Some people think that it is important to teach children the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

It is thought by some people that teaching handwriting skills to children is important. While I agree, handwriting plays a fundamental role in one's life, it is getting substituted by other available methods to write with more clarity and storage life. Firstly, Handwriting portrays the character of a person. It reveals one's way of living and thinking, which helps others to understand them more precisely. Secondly, even in today's world, it is impossible to live without writing with their own hands, and if not written properly can lead to a serious problem. For instance, still all schools in world conduct exams in writing and if children couldn't write clearly, it will directly affect their grades and performance, which is the reason they are taught different ways of writing that will eventually help them in their future. Another factor that should be taken into account is many languages have gone extinct just because people not longer write those languages with their hands or their is no teaching available on writing skills in those languages. On the other hand, computers and modern digital devices have reduced our burden of writing with hands, each time it is needed for learning, teaching, storing or any other purpose. Even in many schools and college, management authorities have diverted their exams, instead of writing with a pen or a pencil, to keyboards and monitor screens. Such approach is even beneficial for our environment, as it has cut down the usage of papers and pencils, which further has reduced the cutting of trees; thus saving our ecosystem and leading us to no longer need to teach handwriting skills to children. In my opinion, although, children could be taught styles and skills of writing by hand as it will directly help to preserve the currently used languages, other means of writing are available which are more efficient and effective.