Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It has been observed that recently many people opt to start their own business instead offering their services to a company. One possible reason for this could be the convenience it brings to the person. In my opinion, the main drawback of this trend is the risk of not having a fixed income. This essay will look into these matters in detail. One possible reason for being independent and running an own firm is the freedom it gives in terms of possibilities. For example, most young entrepreneurs are now tempting to start online marketplaces such as clothing stores, electronic shops or even souvenir shops. The main benefit of such kind of shops is that the flexibility of providing their goods or services to a wide array of customers online which would not be possible to do if they work for a company. The result of taking the risk of being self-employed is generating more income than their employed counterparts. Despite these advantages, becoming an independent entrepreneur has its own demerits. For instance, people who are involved in business generally do not receive a fixed monthly income in terms of salary or wages. Since they are not paid monthly, a self-employed person might struggle in real life where he should reserve money for mandatory payments such as bills, loans and groceries. Thus, the risk involved in nor being employed is the possibility of facing financial crisis. In summary, although being their own boss has financial freedom in working and earn a lot of money, possible monetary difficulties could be resulted if the business faces a crisis.