People should follow the custom and tradition when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that when people move to to a foreign country, they should perform the custom and tradition of the new country. However, I disagree with this opinion, and I believe that people have freedom to decide whether to follow those new custom. To begin with, living in a foreign country should not be a reason for forcing people to establish a local custom or tradition. This is simply because people have their rights to make decisions about what customs they would like to follow. No matter their old customs or the new custom, whatever people choose should be determined by their interests. For example, after living in a foreign country for many years, some migrants still follow the traditions of their original cultures, such as celebrating special festivals and eating traditional foods, which should be respected. It is true that many migrants tend to learn foreign custom and tradition in order to understand local culture and integrate into local communities. By celebrating special events in the new country, people may gain a basic understanding about the history of the surroundings that they are living in. In addition, it also gives them a chance to communicate with local residents and build new social networks. For example, some national holidays, such as the Anzac Day connect people new to the country and citizens, which helps newcomers to develop the sense of belonging in the new country. To conclude, whether to follow the custom and tradition of the new country people move in should depends on their interests and different purposes. Nevertheless, I am convinced that new migrants should not be forced to disregard their own tradition.