Nowadays everywhere in the world has multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic people. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Most countries are majorly made up of different groups of people whose cultural believe are at variance with each other. The crux of this paper is to look at the merits and demerits of a multicultural community. A society made up of units of Persons each with different cultural believe will bring about rich cultural heritage. An illustration of such country is Nigeria, where there are more than 204 ethnic groups. Such country could become a centre for tourism; attracting people from different countries and as such generating greater revenue for its government. Furthermore, it will bring about the exchange of goods and services, harnessing the skills and resources dominant in each region. An example of this is Nigeria, where each specializes in a particular thing. A huge part of the nation's food comes from the northern part of the country. Nevertheless, there are also disadvantages associated with societies in which we have different groups, one of such is disunity. Because there differ in culture and language. There seems to be jealousy, envy and greed among them. They compete with each other for high positions in government which could lead to killing of each other. Also, it could lead to dwindling of its natural resources as a result of the struggle for power. They destroy and burn down infrastructures. An example is Nigeria, where the majority of the its resources has been destroyed due to ethnic war. In summary, a society that is a combination of multicultural groups will always be faced with merits and demerits associated with it. Globally, a lot of states are made up of individuals from different places. Therefore, it is recommended that, government should map out strategies that will enhance peaceful cohabitation within its territory.