The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many believe that the vitality of scientific development is to enhance human beings’ lives, while there are objections to this statement. In this essay, I will agree with the objections and discuss reasons to support my perspective. It is undeniable that science has facilitated people’s lives in various fields such as transportation, electricity, medicine etc. Firstly, over the past decades, many types of transportation were invented in order for people to transport faster with convenience. Secondly, electricity also became one of the fundamental needs in our daily lives. Finally, with medical innovation, we can save many lives from the numerous invented methods. For example, during COVID-19 pandemic, scientists developed vaccines to prevent the infection which saved people. However, that innovation is not the heart of science’s objective. Instead, science is the research and development that helps human beings to connect with nature. Scientific discoveries not only allow us to deeply understand the world we inhabit, but also to teach us how to coexist with nature. For example, the findings regarding natural disasters provide us with the solutions of how to survive in each situation. Furthermore, it shows us the cause which might be affected by artificial activities, so that we can learn how to prevent it. In conclusion, innovations can benefit us by improving our daily lives, yet the significant purpose of science is for us to embrace and learn about nature. Therefore, this aim should be the basis before we invent new technology in order for us to coexist beautifully with our world.