Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

In a world full of technology, we see a lot of kids continuously in front of their computer screens, playing games. There are various types of games available and a variety of options to choose from. There is a facility of online gaming as well if you don't want to spend money on purchasing one. When I was a kid, I remember I used to wait for vacations so I could play outdoor sports and games with my friends. I believe the main reason why children choose to play computer games is that parents are not attentive. They are either working or too busy to look after their kids. Further, parents keep kids busy with various classes that they do not have time for outdoor activities. Kids have access to various technological devices and playing games on them is more convenient than going outside. Sometimes they don't have a company and end up playing multiplayer games. One recent example is the game - PUBG, which is the talk of the town. Kids are highly addicted to this game and it is popular because you can play with your friends. In my opinion, computer games are a negative development. However, to say, there are a few benefits as well. Research shows that computer games help a kid become more attentive, alert and improves concentration. But the negative overpower the positive, playing excessive computer games cause adverse effects on a person's health. Playing outdoor games/sports has its benefits and provides a great source of refreshment after studying for hours. It not only helps in boosting one's stamina, but keeps one fit. These benefits are lost in computer gaming. To conclude, I think playing computer games for a little time is fine, but I would always prefer playing a sport as it has various health benefits.