Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Many people are of the belief that genetically modified crops are the latest incarnation of biotechnology, which has enormous potential for increasing food production to meet the demand of the growing population across the globe. This essay discusses both innocuous and noxious effects of GM crops. Firstly, the human population is growing and it is growing faster than anticipated. To feed all of the population and thus prevent famine, upheaval or civil war, more and more nutritious food is needed. GM crops claim and ensure that nutrients are available to everybody by increasing local food production in third world and first world countries. Furthermore, genetically altered crops also benefit the economies of countries and reduce their dependence on the industrialised world. Contrary, Some researchers found that eating GM foods can contribute to the development of cancer. They argue that because the disease is caused by mutations in DNA, it is dangerous to introduce new genes into the human body. Additionally, these foods contain allergen which has more potential to trigger allergic reactions after consumption. Thus, it’s believed that GM crops sacrifice human health and the environment for the sake of revenues and shareholder value. In a nutshell, on one side of the heated discourse are people who firmly believe that GM crops pose a threat to human health and biodiversity. On the other side are mainly scientists who are convinced that genetic engineering of plants represents a technology with enormous potential for increasing crop in an environmentally benign way. This controversy has to degenerate into a sterile in order to find ways of using this technology in the safest possible manner.