The percentage of overweight children in Western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effect of this disturbing trend.

Over the last decade, the amount of children who are obese have risen to about 20% in the western world. This essay will discuss some reasons why this has occurred and examine the consequences of the negative trend. The main cause of this problem is poor diet, which can be attributed to the geometric increase in the number of fast food restaurants. For example, on almost every high street there is a MacDonald's, Kentucky Fried Chicken and Pizza Hut, whose pre prepared dishes has been proven to be very unhealthy (especially full of fatty acids and cholesterol) with their target advertisement towards children, consequently making them the majority of their customers. In addition, unhealthy meals can also be eaten at home and not necessarily at ready - made meal restaurants. Such home meals include processed edibles that are easy for busy, career-seeking parents to give their children. The effect of being overweight has Been and will continue to be serious. Firstly, there has been a significant rise in the number of health related diseases amongst children, especially diabetes. This debilitating illness means a child has to be injected with insulin for the rest of his life. Not only this, these very obese children often experience bullying and insults from their colleagues in school, which can tilt them towards depression and suicide. In conclusion, it is evident that there are several causes of obesity in children and a variety of negative effects. The society (particularly the west) has to put up regulations and policies to curb this deterioration.