Nowadays, people use social media to keep up with the news. Why do they do this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

In recent years, there has been an increase in usage of social media. This has led to a switch in news updates being viewed on Facebook or Twitter rather than news channels or newspapers. This essay will discuss why people prefer it and how is this a negative trend. People can easily access social media applications on their mobile phones. The quick access to these apps has resulted in lesser waiting time for people to receive news. As a result, people prefer news on social media rather than watching it on television or reading it in a newspaper. For example, a survey conducted in the USA demonstrated a 50% increase in people using social media to keep up with news since last decade. However, as no approval is required when updating news on social media apps, the authenticity of any news reported on these platforms is low. Since the information is not verified before being published, it can be fake. This is because the users of these websites might share articles without checking the facts. For example, there have been cases of news regarding the deaths of famous people that later on were found to be incorrect. Moreover, websites such as Buzzfeed have been accused several times of exaggerating news in order to gain more viewers. In conclusion, easy access has led to news being available in a short period of time, which in turn has pushed people to keep up with news on social media. Nonetheless, I do not consider this trend to be positive as the news shared can be fake and hence cannot be trusted.