Some think that residents should responsible for keeping thier areas clean and tidy, while others say it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

There has been a raging debate about whose duty it is to ensure our environment is clean and tidy. A certain school of thought is of the opinion that residents ought to be responsible. Others, however, say it is the government's duty. In my opinion, the people should carry out this task. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion. On one hand, supporters of the first view above say humans should have that role because our activities are responsible for garbage and trash in the first place. If we did not drop refuse indiscriminately, our cities would not be untidy. The onus therefore lies with humans to do make sure waste is properly disposed. For example, despite the bin bags and cans abound people still litter the roads. I agree with this view and say we should made to do more about cleanliness. On the other hand, those with a contrasting view opine that government should be accountable owing to the fact that it has the powers to implement and enforce waste management programs, unlike individuals. They believe that with government's pool of funds it can provide cleaners and trash collectors in every area. England, for instance, there are cleaners stationed at major roads to pick up refuse and this means the people responsible for the waste are not sanctioned or advised to desist. To sum up, despite the contrary view noted I say the citizens should have the responsibility of keeping our areas clean and tidy. The government is advised to embark on creating awareness and educate people on the benefits of a living in a cleaner and serene society.