Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although many governments and large companies have contributed in improving or making changes in our environment, but that does not mean individuals can do nothing about it. In other words, I disagree with the statements. The main reason why is that nowadays there are a lot of minor people who also contribute in improving by teaching the next generations, creating new things, reducing the usage of irrelevant things, and so on. There are several examples as of why I disagree. We all know that nowadays people are very addicted to their smart phones, gadgets, etc., especially when it comes to social media. By having social media, people can share whatever they want to and view each other's post. Recently, the trend of posting story in Instagram is becoming bigger and bigger, especially when it is about our environment. To illustrate, there was an account who posted about fire in the Amazon, North America, the lungs of our world. Their intention as of why they shared is to make other people aware of the climate change. As a result, people become more aware of the situations. Another example is that there was a post about a turtle whose nose was full of trash. Not only the turtle but also other sea-animals that are living under the sea. As a result, many people start to reduce by using any kinds of plastic like plastic bag, straw, etc. Moreover, there are some people who create a re-useable stainless straw for them to drink. To conclude, even if it is just a small step, but individuals can do something to improve and make differences in our environment.