In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, people are gaining more weight and their engagement in physical exercise has equally reduced. This is due to the increase in consumption of processed foods and the effects of technological innovations in humans. Solutions to these problems will also be discussed. To begin with, individuals prefer fast foods to home cooked meals. These foods are known to contain high level of calorie which is not healthy. A recent research by Food scientists shows that these processed foods are the leading causes of obesity in the society. Therefore, consuming high calorie content food is the leading cause of weight gain. Secondly, the use of the internet and television has replaced times spent on physical activities. Most individuals hardly engage in exercise. To illustrate, I usually work out in the gym, but of late, tv programs and surfing the internet takes up most of my time. Also, very short distances are now accessed with cars. People no longer stroll or use bicycles. To clarify, most people depend solely on driving, forgetting that walking is beneficial to the body. This could be another form of exercise and fitness. Furthermore, to curb these problems, the government should encourage people to engage in more physical exercise. This awareness should be more in schools and offices. Dieticians should tell people the benefits of eating healthy meals such as vegetable and fruit diet. So as to shed excess weight and keep fit. In conclusion, although eating fast food and usage of technology has contributed to increase weight in people and reduced fitness, with the help of doctors and also political involvement, individuals will imbibe healthy habits and such problems will be curbed.