Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

It is argued that recreational activities are of the same importance as traditional subjects. I totally disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss firstly, school’s main role in children’s life and secondly, how teaching subjects such as art could have a bad influence on the educational process. It is a school’s responsibility to prepare children for today’s challenges and provide them with life skills needed to access different educational and employment opportunities. For instance, in the job market, people with basic skills and knowledge of computers or languages are very likely to find a suitable job, compared to those who can only play a musical instrument or draw a picture. Thus, it is understandable why basic subjects such as IT are much more important than art and music. At this very young age, children are attracted to colours and sounds which could have a negative effect on studying other basic subjects. For example, a study by The School Counsellor Association in America showed that 80% of children chose to attend a drawing class instead of a math class when given the choice to attend either class. Children want to play all the time, so if they get involved in more activities, they will neglect their studies and become reckless. Hence, giving art and music the same attention as traditional subjects could distract children. In conclusion, school should teach children to face this world and help them concentrate on subjects that are beneficial, not only entertaining. It is recommended that art and music should be dropped out of the school curriculum and replaced with subjects such as IT.