Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Moving to a new country to start a new life is definitely a big step to take, especially for those who are not able to speak the local language. I think it will not bring about a serious social issue, although I agree that this inability would cause some practical problems, Firstly, people nowadays are quite more open-minded regarding foreigners so it is probable that they will attempt to understand what they are trying to convey. With the current technology that the world has right now, people can make use of language applications designed to help break language barriers so somehow, this can overcome any misunderstanding. Secondly, most countries adopt a common language like English, so more often than not, a foreigner will meet someone who can communicate with him or her; therefore reducing the problems that he or she might encounter. However, one social problem that could occur because of this language barrier is that these foreigners might be isolated by the locals because of their differences. Some locals do not try to socialize with an outsider once they know that he cannot speak their language. Some would even automatically avoid them because they already assumed that because they are from another country, they only know their own native language. Nevertheless, this is not always the case since we are now living in a highly-globalized society and many countries are actually very accommodating to visitors and migrants alike. In conclusion, I agree that the inability to communicate using the locals' language will probably cause misunderstandings, however, these problems will not always result in serious consequences.