Some people believe that history has no value in the contemporary world. But some believe we still need history to learn from the past. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether to learn history or not has always generated a heated argument amongst people. It is perceived by some people that studying history is irrelevant and has no beneficial value while some people are of the opinion that it is very important in order to benefit from past experiences. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument. In my opinion, I believe that the study of history is beneficial to the society. On the one hand, history makes us connected to the past and its study can be applied to present day cases, which could in turn be useful for future purposes. The reason is that it would be of benefit to be able to know more about past mistakes and challenges which have been encountered by people of the past. In addition, history also makes us appreciate nature and its process of evolution better. For instance, history of wars could help prevent wars from occurring in future. Furthermore, It is essential that it should be studied as it could also lead to better innovations. On the other hand, people that argued that studying history is a waste of time have stated that learning things of the past may be old fashioned and contribute lesser to the fast paced technological know how that we have in the modern day society. An example of this is studying the history of mountains which may not be really useful in an environment without its presence. In such cases, it may be deemed irrelevant and unnecessary. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that history is important to the development of the society, it possesses better advantages than disadvantages. This essay has been able to discuss some of the reasons history is important. It is hoped that government would incorporate this into the school curriculum.