Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Day by day, the rate of crime is increasing, and we need to find what are the causes and solutions in order to prevent further criminal activity. Most of the reasons of climbing up the crime rate are poverty and lack of the consequences of actions. Therefore, the government should think about alternative ways to reduce criminal act. Prevention of crime is the initial step to reduce the crime rate rather than putting the criminal in to jail later. At first, we need to think why criminals go robbing and stealing from others. There may be a lot of answers to this such as poverty, jobless and low income. As consequences, people may start to think about stealing or robbing from the shops or houses which is easier to get money so that they can support their family for food and basic human needs. The solutions for this problem are that the government needs to a better social welfare system to identify the low-income families and give support to them such as providing monthly allowance, health care benefits and free education. By providing monthly allowance, people can support their families for food and home without worrying about starvation. In addition, they can access to good education which can improve or upgrade their skills and can find the job easily. Another cause can be the unaware the consequences of criminal activity such as going to jail or prison. Some people may not afford to go to school because of poor income, so they do not have enough an education background about what is crime and what is going to happen if they committed the criminal act. To prevent this issue, we should educate about crime and its consequences when they are young either at home or school and it is the responsibility of both parents and society. For example, giving punishment to young kids when they take things without permission so that they will learn about their actions by doing things wrongly. In conclusion, poverty and lack of education play a major role in the increasing crime rate. Therefore, the government should emphasize on public education, awareness and reinforce in criminal laws.