Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Many people argue that advertisement is a powerful tool to introduce qualify products that improve customers’ lives. In my opinion, I agree with the idea that people are being encouraged by some advertisement’s strategies to buy unnecessary things. Nowadays, in advance of technological development and the nonstop progress of social media, customers are easily swayed by numerous advertising programs due to their wide popularity. Consequently, people have purchased impulsively a huge amount of products without having a clear purpose for using them lately. For example, companies, which sell commodities, strengthen intensive campaigns to aim mainly at a target audience of housewives, those people would appeal to overbuying clothings as well as food owing of information overload and do not use it later. Advocates of the idea that advertisements have beneficial aspects might think that these advertising programs contribute to introducing quality products to enhance the quality of lives. They also think that thanks to advertisements, customers could have various choices to find the best product because of endless competitions among firms. However, I think those thoughts are rather ill-founded as the fact might be opposite. In reality, there are many products do not have authentic qualify compared to advertising programs. For instance, some teen girls used the fake and low-quality cosmetic which have a negative impact on their skin. Furthermore, reality has shown that customers who tend to face advertising overload would have difficulty finding which is the most satisfying products. In conclusion, despite the existence of some opinions in favour of advertisement helping people to choose products to improve our lives, I do believe advertising industry would cause people to overspend money on unnecessary things.