Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Many people believe that increasing the gasoline rates would be the best possible mean to reduce the traffic issues and growing pollution. Although a rise in petroleum cost may have some impact on traffic and pollution problems, it is definitely not the best option because it would result in inflation in the country. So I have to completely disagree with this. The better way to solve these problems would be to improve public transport and increase taxation on private cars. To begin with, raising the fuel prices would lead to a significant inflation in the country. Clearly, a rise in the cost of fuel would lead to a higher expenditure on the transports of goods, which would see people buying the daily household items like grocery and vegetables at a much higher rates. Similarly, it would affect the energy production expenditure from fossil fuels, resulting in expensive electricity being provided to the industry, which would in turn also rise the production cost, further contributing to a price hike. I, therefore, believe that increasing petrol prices would not be a wise idea to mitigate traffic and pollution concerns. The best way to meet these issues would be to introduce taxation on private cars' travelling and parking, and also improve the public transport. In other words, if a better alternatives to car travelling could be made available to the public in terms of cheap, safe, comfortable and convenient buses, trams and trains, and also by increasing the routes to carry maximum passengers from all parts of the city, people would love to shift from private cars to these facilities. Moreover, further taxation on private car utility as well as an increase in parking fee would also discourage people to use personal vehicles. All these steps would help solve the environmental and transport issues of a country. To conclude, I firmly believe that increasing fuel rates is not the solution of transportation and emission challenges, rather legislation to increase taxes on the use of personal vehicle and availability of better alternatives would help controlling these issues.