Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Two-thirds of the Earth, also known as the ‘Blue Planet’, is covered by water bodies. However, only 1% of this is available for consumption. The scarce availability of water has now become a worldwide issue due to its ever-growing demands. This essay will provide the reasons and solutions to the problem. Increasing human population is a significant factor contributing to water unavailability. World census report of 2017 proved that the world population has risen by 300% since the 18th century due to developments in medical fields. Consequently, the water availability per person has reduced drastically. Secondly, global warming has caused ice glaciers, a major source of fresh water, to melt at the poles of the Globe. This is due to the increasing emission of greenhouse gases from automobiles. A report by Go Green India stated that gases like carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide have caused the average temperature on Earth to increase by 2 degrees Celsius. As a result, there has been a steep decline in water resources. However, initiatives taken by all can help meet this challenge. The government initiated awareness programs can enlighten people about the seriousness of this issue and encourage individuals to take measures to reduce pollution. For instance, Save the World Program in India advertises the use of eco-friendly vehicles which resulted in the drop of CFC levels by 25%. Individuals can also take measures towards conservation of water. For instance, closing the taps when not using it, reducing the time spent showering can reduce the total consumption. These may be small steps, however, when taken by mass population can make a noticeable difference. In conclusion, consumable water is seeing a harmful decline in the modern world due to factors like population rise and greenhouse effects. Although, I believe, that if the aforementioned measures are taken by the government and individuals in the near future, this global concern will cease to exist.