In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite the major advancements in the field of farming, several people around the world, especially from developing and underdeveloped countries do not have anything to eat. This essay sheds lights on the various causes of this situation and also proposes some solutions to tackle this menace. Even though food is produced in abundance globally, hunger is still a reality for many worldwide. Poor infrastructure, economic challenges, weak governmental policies and global trade wars are among some significant reasons to be blamed for it. For Example, to ensure efficient delivery of fresh produce excellent storage facilities with extraordinary transportation networks is required. However, most of the developing nations due to their financial constraints, do not have access to basic roads and cold-storage facilities necessary to deliver perishable foodstuffs leading to the spoilage of their major proportion. On the other hand, trade wars or various political issues between different countries, bar the import-export of essential edible commodities affecting their affordability. For instance, due to a recent political conflict between Pakistan and India, both governments blocked the import of edible items leading to a sharp surge in prices of vegetables on both sides, and seriously limited the purchasing capacity of the middle class and economically weak segment of society. Hence, the overproduction of edible products is negated by the constant constraints in their movement and delivery, and ultimately their affordability. Nevertheless, even after major challenges proper steps in the right direction can help in ensuring the availability of ration for everyone. To outline some, firstly, serious initiatives from governments are required for infrastructure development by overcoming financial constraints through foreign direct investment. Secondly, they should develop some social initiatives to make food more affordable by not imposing taxes on basic commodities. Hence, a holistic approach from all fronts will help in mitigating these problems. In conclusion, we are always in a race against time when dealing with food availability. Hence, proper implementation of various schemes at institution, national and international level can help humanity to ensure no one sleeps hungry anywhere in the world.