Smoking is a habit that claims many lives and is a great drain on health services. One way to combat smoking would be to make it illegal. What are the pros and cons of of such government policy? What alternative strategies can you suggest to combat smoking?

The enormous drain on health services and the loss of life could be attributed to smoking. One way of combating this trend is to prohibit the usage. The benefit of making smoking unlawful is that, it will enable smokers stop the habit. I suggest that the authority should enforce strict laws such as imprisonment for anyone found guilty. However, there may be drawbacks to be taken into account. One major upside to government making smoking illegal is that it will make people quit the habit. In other words, individuals who smoke will desist from it because of the consequences they will face when they continue. In addition, people would be less prone to health challenges and death, which largely results from smoking. For example, The government of the Netherlands, in 2005 started the screening of immigrants with this practice before entry into the country. This has contributed to the reduction in lung cancer as against the previous years. So, this is a huge plus if it can be done in other countries. One potential problem in making smoking illegal is that the rate of crime will increase. This is because some individuals will be in a euphoric state when committing crime and will not be aware of their actions and this can cause loss of life and properties. A recent report released by the Nigerian Police revealed that about 80 percent of criminal offences is as a result of unlawful smoking by people. However, one alternative suggestion I believe will go a long way to curb this menace is that the authorities should pass a strict law on smoking and sanctions such as imprisonment for anyone who breaks the law. If this is done, it will greatly reduce smoking and health issues in the long run. In conclusion, although there are merits in making smoking unlawful, the rate of crime is a major setback to it. However, the government can enact laws that will curb this menace.