Many people believe that formal "pen and paper" examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, to assess learning success, many consider that paper-based examinations are not highly suitable for it. In my view, I agree that exams through "pen and paper" are not the best strategy to check individual educational achievement as there are other types of tests that can be used for this matter, depending on a person's pursuit. One of the other types of exam which can be used to measure educational success is skills assessment. This is done to check individuals' overall understanding of the lesson, wherein students are tested according to their knowledge of a certain skill by an evaluation. Medical students, for instance, use this testing a lot, as they do not only study theories, but also put their learning into practice as much as possible. Through this, professors and trainers are able to choose who are qualified and not, to graduate pursue the career they want. Another kind of exam that can be used to measure one's learning achievement is the oral exam. To explain further, the students get to explain their knowledge about their subjects in detail and in an interview setting. This is a typical exam for those who are aspiring to get a bachelor's degree, such as nurses or psychologists; professions that are in need of good communication. Aspirants need to study their materials as hard as possible and keep practicing it by speaking to other people to get a high score. Therefore, oral examinations are not only good for measuring the knowledge of students, but it also develops them into efficient communicators, which is an important skill in the future. In conclusion, I believe that paper-based exams are not the most appropriate way to assess achievement in education because there are other types of testing that can greatly help individuals to qualify in their chosen careers and be effective in communication.