• Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world • Why is this? • What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The energy obtained from the sun also known as solar power, is getting increasingly famous as a domestic source in various parts of the world. Due to its popularity, there are many advantages and disadvantages, which will be discussed further. The alarming rate of the use of fossil fuels made the man turn to alternative sources such as solar energy. For example: instead of using petrol to run cars, automobile experts are now creating vehicles that run on electricity. Initially, solar power was used by huge organizations on a wide scale, but currently it is accessible to individual homes. It is used for heating of water, which subsequently provides a reduced electricity bill. In poor villages, the energy drawn from the scorching sun is stored to be used for street lights in the night. These are some reasons that solar power is a popular household source. The advantages are, that it is obtained from a never-ending resource and hence wouldn’t be near extinction. It doesn't run on power and hence is alternatively cheaper than fossil fuels that are limited in nature. On the contrary, its disadvantages are that the sun is not always available in some cold countries like Alaska and this restricts its use. A solar panel has to be set up in order to utilize its energy. These panels are often expensive, which also makes them inaccessible to the underprivileged. In conclusion, there are on-going efforts to make solar energy as a permanent source of fuel and limit the consumption depleting resources.