• Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. • Why is this? • What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

These days, energy requirements are growing at an increasing rate. Due to the side effects of nuclear power, many countries are looking at different options like energy from sun and plastic. However, there are both pros and cons regarding the use of solar energy for households. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why solar energy is efficient and some challenges to be overcome. Let's begin by looking at the advantages of using solar energy. Firstly, one of the main positives of solar energy is that it keeps planet Earth safe. What I mean by this is that there are no harmful resources in solar energy production. For example, In generating the nuclear power, radioactive material's are used, due to which there can be a high risk of nuclear meltdown like Chernobyl. Moreover, there is no wastage produced from solar panels, unlike nuclear waste from reactors. Secondly, Once the panels are installed there is no power bill till their life tenure. They produce energy from sun rays, which means that there is no end for energy source. For Instance, using 20 solar panels, it is true that one can run all the electronics in a medium sized house for free round the year. Additionally, there won't be any power loss like normal power sources. Finally, houses can be fitted with both solar and normal power as the energy source. Turning on to the other side of the argument, The installation charges for solar panels are very high compared to that of any other power source which makes people choose other options. In addition, solar energy is very much useful for heavy industries than normal housing as the amount of electricity bill generated by the normal energy source for many years equates the installation charges of solar panels. Furthermore, it is very difficult to maintain them as very less personal are trained to work in the field. Also, many people have no knowledge to use them making the way for traditional energy sources. In conclusion, Although it is difficult to maintain solar panels, it is worth using them as it is non dangerous. You need to weigh up positives in the form of saving the society, lower power bills, and soon, and the negatives of high installation charges before using them. Personally, I believe the benefits in the form of the lower electricity bill with constant energy source eventually outweigh any negatives.