In some countries, it is illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

All countries have legislation regarding jobs. Some countries are strict and have a specific age range for a particular job, while others are lenient and have no restriction. It is against the law to refuse anyone who has applied for a post because of his or her age. In my opinion, such progress is mostly favourable for society, however, it also has some drawbacks. Age is considered as just a number by the majority of people. It does not define whether the person is suitable for a job or not, but the skills, education and previous experience related to the work must be considered as the topmost priorities. For example, A driver gets better with time as he gets more practice, therefore, if you require a skilled person to drive your car age must be removed from the eligibility criteria. Moreover, eliminating age as a condition also creates equal job options for both the young and older. Whereas such law has mostly positive effects, it also has some negative aspects. People tend to lose the physical capability to perform tasks with time and can prove to be harmful to the job. For instance, outdoor labour needs to be fit and healthy to carry out the activity, therefore, a young person is more suitable for the job. Furthermore, if there are no age restrictions for a certain position, there might be no post left for fresh graduates. Take doctors as an example, they get proficient with time, however, if we let other people take the spot, a young doctor might get no opportunity to work. To conclude, it is unlawful to decline anybody from a job because of his or her age. I believe that declining someone from a job application because of his or her age should not be a usual practice, however, certain professions require more young people to work and therefore age should be considered as one of the requirements.