Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Lately, there has been an argument about the best way to group students in order to achieve academic excellence. While many people believe that the schools should classify students based on their intellectual capabilities, others are of the opinion that schools should allow students of varying academic performances to learn together. This essay will discuss both views and express why I believe that studying with a different group of students is beneficial. Firstly, there are a number of benefits that can be derived from having students of different academic capacity study together. One of these is that, this creates a motivational environment for the average students. A good example of this, is a student who has a low intellect, who can always refer back to the intelligent ones for better explanation of topics. It has also been proven by a recent study in France, that being in class with smart people, can make a dull student improve significantly in their studies. Furthermore, each child has a different gift. That a child has a low academic performance, does not mean he would not be talented. For instance, an academically dull student may do well in vocational studies. Hence, he can also impart this knowledge on his academically bright counterparts. Of course, this is a good advantage as we live in an era where having a certificate only, does not qualify one for employment. In contrast, those who believe that students should be taught based on academic abilities believe that doing so will lead to a fast paced learning for the highly intelligent students. For instance, they will not be dragged back in their studies by the less intelligent ones. To conclude, in my opinion, I believe having different categories of students learn together in the same classroom will pose greater benefits. Teachers should consider taking this approach.