Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The modern society is generating an increasing amount of waste and the waste management has become one of the pressing issues both in developing and developed countries. With the inevitable rise in population and industry, this problem will be further aggravated. The government can help decrease waste production by educating the public and by promoting recycling. Consumerism is the number one cause of the excessive production of garbage. Markets are getting flooded with cheap low quality products. They don’t last very long. People buy them, use them for a few weeks or months and then throw them away. Eventually, these end up in landfills. Growing consumerism is also responsible for mindless shopping. People buy products they do not even need and once those products start collecting dust, they are also thrown away. Many of these products cannot even be recycled. Consequently, they lie in the landfills polluting the environment. Excessive use of plastic also contributes to the growing production of rubbish. We go shopping empty handed and bring home the purchase in plastic carry bags. Food is often served on plastic plates during community celebrations and functions. Some even restaurants use plastic cutlery. E-waste is another problem that confronts us today. People no longer get a broken television or mobile phone repaired. Instead, they buy a brand new piece. Some people discard their smart phones or laptops in working condition as soon as a new model hits the market. They are neither concerned, nor aware of the impact of their actions on the environment. In order to deal with the growing production of garbage, the government should enact some stringent laws. It should make recycling mandatory. It should also ban the use of plastic and impose heavy taxes on consumer goods like mobile phones to reduce their sales. Another way the government can fight this menace is to create awareness among the public. If people realize that they are knowingly or unknowingly hurting the planet by throwing away stuff, they will definitely want to change their habits. To conclude the ‘ use and throw’ culture is the number one cause of excessive production of garbage. Measures such as making recycling mandatory and banning plastic will definitely help to deal with this menace.