Some people think it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others , however, believe that boys and girls would benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Schools play an essential role in the development of a child. Parents need to consider various factors such as co-education or single-sex education being one of them, before making a correct choice for their children. A section of society feels that educating boys and girls in different school aids more focus on studies. While others think, co-education adds to one's maturity. This essay will discuss both sides with reasons and relevant examples. One hand, some believe that studying in a single-sex school leads to better performance in studies. In other words, the attention of the students is completely on learning, rather than looking good and impressing students of the other sex. For example, girls wear short skirts and experiment with their hair to look good and catch the attention of boys. This leads to distraction on both, girls and boys. Therefore, many parents and teachers, for better growth of students hold such a viewpoint. On the other hand, mixed schools facilitate personal grooming and students learn to act responsibly. This means that one learns to look presentable and also it inculcates moral and social values like respecting the other sex and being confident while communicating. For instance, studies have shown that boys who have gone to mixed schools are more confident and comfortable with girls in a social circle, as compared to the ones who have had limited exposure with girls in their early days. As schools are a smaller version of society, such parameters need consideration in the decision-making process by parents. In conclusion, although single-sex education helps students excel in exams, co-education builds a strong character. Therefore, It is dependent on the parents to make an appropriate choice based on their child's comfort and adaptability.