Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

A section of the people believes that paying children for work can contribute to their overall growth, whereas others feel that money can spoil young minds. Children getting paid for work has, both benefits and drawbacks and the essay will discuss both sides in details with relevant examples. On one hand, money can act as a motivational factor for children to work. For example, parents can use this technique of giving money to their offsprings to help them with the household chores. As a consequence, one can learn the importance of hard work and the value of money. In addition, children can develop money management skills. This means that children can understand how to spend money adequately on their current needs, keeping in mind to save a little for the unforeseen situations that may arise in future. Ultimately, it would prepare a child to get ready for an adulthood life. On the other hand, money can harm children in various ways. First, it can drive them away from studies. For instance, research performed by the University of Michigan revealed that more than 50 percent of students find it difficult to resume studies in a college or a school, once they get into the habit of regular earnings. Moreover, young children are innocent, and with money in hand, they can easily indulge in wrong activities such as smoking and drinking. Therefore, it is rightly said that money can do more harm than good especially to young people. To conclude, although paid work can bring wisdom in children, there is a greater possibility that money can ruin a naive mind and deviate it from its goal. Therefore, parents should always keep a watch on their children's activities and highlight the importance of education over work and money in their childhood.