Question- Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Visitations to museums are increasingly becoming popular. In recent times, when people visit museums, they charge an access fee. While some people think this has numerous benefits, others are of the opinion that this idea is unwelcome. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and explain why I believe that museum charges are beneficial. There are a number of reasons why charging access fees at the museum can be of benefit to the society. Firstly, the money generated from this practice, serves as a source of internal generated revenue for the government. Such revenues are used for the maintenance of the facilities. For example, in France, some museums charge a particular sum as entrance fee, in which they partly use in paying its workers. In addition, many people tend to not value free things judiciously. For instance, a study found that in some parts of Africa where access to the museum is free, many people don't visit them and do not value the resources therein. However, some people have argued about how charging fees at museums are detrimental to the society. One of their arguments is that, exorbitant access fees can be a turn off to potential tourists. In addition, it deprives poor people the right to benefit from such institutes. Furthermore, some people believe that this can also make people (students especially) lose interest in studying the past. This could have a negative impact on our society as studying history is a necessity. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both the advantages and disadvantages of charging admission fees at museums, and also looked at the reasons I am of the opinion that its advantages outweighs its disadvantages. Government and individuals should institute a moderate fee at admissions in order to ensure equitable access for all.