Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food than cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Over the years, we have witnessed an increase in the rate at which people patronize restaurants. Most individuals often prefer to buy their meals at these places, rather than prepare their dishes at home. Eating at the cafeteria saves time and offers one different varieties, but there are some disadvantages to this practice. To begin, one evident benefit of buying food at restaurants is that it saves time. In other words, individuals with tight schedules who find it difficult to cook their meals at home, will find this option highly attractive. Another reason why cafeteria food is gaining wide popularity is that it offers one several food options. This is to say that, most people that visit these places do so because they are aware they can order whatever they choose to eat. This is usually of much importance to a customer visiting there with a family. Consequently, all the members of the family will order their preferred option. On the other hand, there are obvious drawbacks of always patronizing restaurant meals. Firstly, the dishes served may pose some risk to the body. To clarify, most restaurants often use ingredients that are harmful to the human body. This usually comes in the form of spices, in an effort to improve the taste of the dishes. As a result, the unsuspecting customers suffer varying degrees of ailments after consuming them. For example, a recent research in Lagos state, Nigeria, found out that the majority of food vendors use 'aspartame' which is known to cause disease conditions like hypertension and kidney diseases. Secondly, a lot of the food sold at restaurants is usually more expensive when compared to the home-made ones. Hence, this puts a financial strain on their regular customers. In conclusion, while there are certain benefits of purchasing foods from restaurants, the drawbacks include, the risks it may pose to health and their financial implications.