Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that a person’s culture and personality can be established simply by recognising the clothes they choose to wear. In my opinion, although one’s choice of clothing can tell us a little about these traits, we cannot learn a lot as appearances are only informative up to a point. To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that the dress sense of many people is reflective of their culture and interests. This is because in many cultures there is a particular code for how to dress appropriately. For instance, a man wearing an expensive suit and holding a briefcase is un-derstood to be steeped in business culture. Because of these social symbols, including suits, sun-glasses spectacles that are darkened or polarized to protect the eyes from the glare of the sun sunglasses and religious garments, it is possible to quickly ascertain that people live in one culture in-stead in place of, or as an alternative to instead of another. That said, there are limits to how much we can discover just by looking at someone’s clothes, especially when it comes to their character. After all, it is said that you should never judge a book by its cover. To illustrate, a woman dressed all in black may be judged to have a depressed, morose, pessimistic personality as we associate such feelings with this colour. However, it is more than possible that such a woman is returning from a funeral or simply thinks she looks good in black, and, more importantly, that she has a happy, cheerful disposition. In conclusion, while it is not impossible to gather accurate information about a person’s background and character via their dress sense, there is a real danger of being misled if we rely on this method of assessment at all times.