Compared to the past, people can now work in places that are far from their homes because of modern means of transportation. How has this affected the lives of workers? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having modern transportation. Support your answer with specific reasons and example.

People are now able to travel for a long distance away from their home using public and private transport. The merits of transportations are employees can reach to their companies timely and cheaply. While if we talk about its drawbacks, it is creating pollution in the environment, its maintenance cost is very high. Firstly, earlier, it was quite difficult to reach at the company by an employee so, he used to work nearby his house. However, today with the advent of new technology and the development of public transports like metros, buses, it is really easy to reach in time. Also, it is quite affordable to buy a ticket for a bus and train. So, I would say transportation has made our life flexible in terms of travelling. Despite all these, there are some demerits which are affecting our daily life. Today, vehicles are run by fossil fuels, which emit harmful greenhouse gases, which are changing the climate condition of our earth. For example, global warming is occurring. In addition to that, transportation maintenance cost is very expensive. Every week, it requires a service. In case of public transport the government has to take care of all the expenses, while in case of private transport, owner of the vehicle has to look after all the costs it require to keep maintain his vehicle. In conclusion, although there are several benefits of transportation around us, their disadvantages are also not less. Hence, transportations are providing luxury to travel cheaply and timely, but it is also affecting the environment differently.