Some people think that planting trees in open spaces in cities and towns is more important than building houses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Community in urban areas where continuous development of infrastructures and facilities are abundant, some people are debating whether to use open spaces for planting trees or constructing houses. I totally agree that we should have more green areas rather than having more houses in cities and towns. This essay will provide some cases and examples to support my point of view. On the one hand, shelter is a basic requirement for life. Housing is also essential for any country, hoping to develop the economy as workers have access to affordable homes. With the increasing population and lack of houses in urban areas, it will greatly raise rental priced due to the increase demand in housing, which tend people to be living in most congested places which can be detrimental to health. On the other hand, the benefits of growing more green spaces in town are indisputable. Firstly, because trees produce oxygen, which can counteract against heavy pollution in cities and create a better quality of air. As a result, trees and green areas generate a peaceful environment which promotes better living condition and mental health. Secondly, it also reduces noise pollution thanks to leaves’ capacity in sound distributing. It is obvious that more people can enjoy their neighbourhoods and reduce of stress after having a rough day of work which not only boost performance at work but increases their productivity as well. In conclusion, building a house is very important, but from my point of view, I believe it is more considerable in planting more trees in those areas.