Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Colour perception and associated mood swings are subjective to an individual. It is often observed that colour can affect the emotions of a person, hence it is important to be careful while designing an office space. I believe that it is true to an extent, as the pleasant colours can brighten up a person's mood and even enhance the concentration while working. Some shades are believed to secrete happy hormones in human, being happy and calm. The splash of bright colours in a summer dress is an example of expressing happiness through colours. In addition to that, it is obvious to see white interiors in most workspaces, considering the fact it represents purity and peace. Moreover, it provides a peaceful atmosphere and creates a positive vibe to work on. For example, research on the effects of colour on people's life claim that staring on darker shades for a long period can result in anxiety and stress, therefore, great attention should be given while selecting artworks and shades for interior designing. Furthermore, some shades can improve the concentration levels of employees and make them more focused while working. It is proved that glaring at a green wall for a while, ensure a person to stay focused, avoiding distractions. For instance, psychiatrists hypnotize their patients using specific colours to make them concentrate. Apparently, certain shades of yellow can also influence the creative thinking abilities and is often used in buildings where artists work, such as in an ad-company. To conclude, the human mind is certainly influenced by many factors and one among them is various shades of colours, which can either have a positive or negative impact depending on the person and the selected shades.