The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is no iota of doubt that, Food plays a crucial role in ensuring a healthy life which is an utmost priority of every person. Food travels from farm to consumer after undergoing through various stages which in turn make it partly not suitable for eating because of this we need to ate only locally produced fresh and healthy food. The phenomenon is offering multifarious benefits to local people, environment and economy. However, a couple of problems due to the same. The following paragraphs would cast light on the pros and cons of food travelling. To begin with the bright side, there are myriad advantages, if food travels. Firstly, people can enjoy a range of fruits and vegetables from all over the world. Hence, people can freely perceive and purchase any kind of food. For instance, about ten years ago, kiwi fruit was unknown to the Bangladeshis, which is from New Zealand, but now everyone knows it. On the top of everything, It still fosters the international trade, which helps many farmers reach the international market and help countries fulfil their cuisine requirements.. Moreover, quality of food also declines to some extent. Yet, locally produced food is the best alternative whereby people can eat fresh and complete, organic food which is very essential for a healthy body. On the flip side of the coin, there are a handful of nasty consequences as well Firstly, food travels by various modes of transport, which in turn not only enhances the price of food but also result in creating pollution. For example, lots of trucks and cargoes travelling food cause air, water pollution and the cost of transportation added to food price, so the price is higher by reason. To conclude, These days food has been transported for miles in order to cater to the demand. But if aforementioned demand can be satisfied by producing and consuming food locally, it would bring a lot of advantages to the environment and the economy of that country despite a few negligible drawbacks.