Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce these increasing levels of crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some nations, there have been a recent rise in the number of crimes happening per time. A lot of individuals are of the opinion that, ensuring more police officers on the streets is the only option available to bring down this rate. My suggestion is that, there are other acts that can be put in place. Firstly, it's necessary to note that these officers, whom would be guarding the streets are humans. They can be easily distracted or manipulated by events surrounding them thereby, becoming ineffective at their duty post due to tiredness or even sickness. Human resources can be more useful by allowing their intelligence play a role in security instead of their strength, meaning automated camera can do the watchmen work and give accuracy of events happening. The information from these machines can be used as retrospective data for future events. More also, the criminals seem to be street wise these days because they know the routes to pass and the ones they must not go through. For example, in Nigeria, there has been sporadic rise in crime rates despite an increase of security officers on the streets. These thieves have learnt to be more wise by doing their worst during hours officers are resting from their duty post. However, having men to keep watch on the roads daily will be more costly to the government and families of these police officers. The cost of employing staffs will reduce and the safety of the policemen will be guaranteed as automated machines will not only bring about sound report, but also reduce the incidence of them being shot by the hoodlums. For example, a report was given in Singapore on the number of men who have lost their lives to keeping the populace safe by working on roads and inspecting men passing has been on a very high side which has brought about the need of the country to look for an alternative to this kind of duty. In conclusion, safety of men working for the government and the people is very necessary to the growth of the society. Having men watching the roads won't reduce the criminal rate let alone causing more damage.