Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

In the contemporary era, there is a heated argument over the issue that, with the development of new devices and gadgets, it seems that more and more people are keen on acquiring new hi-tech stuffs. A lion's share of the society favours it, however, the rest goes adverse it. From my point of view, aforementioned act can cause some problems in the industry. The following paragraphs would discuss the reason along with an apt example. I see eye to eye, with the central idea for various reasons. First, the race of using new phones and laptops is a bad way to burn the money. We can clearly see a lot of devices have a price tag of hundreds, even thousands or millions of dollars. But they are not made for one or two years to use, they are made for long-term use. For example, top-tier smartphones, more widely known as ‘flagship’ smartphones, are able to work smoothly up to 3 years. This future-proof rate for laptop is even higher, up to 10 years of use carefully. Furthermore, in recent years, the ratio of performance per dollar is getting lower, due to the slowness of chip architecture researches. A lot of companies, such as Intel, need funds to sponsor that work, and all they can do is to raise the price of their processors, therefore, make it way more expensive, while can’t bring any significant difference compared to the last generation. On the loggerhead, some critics go against the above discussed assertions. Too many new gadgets can cause dramatic problems to the environment. A common problem is people tend to throw away the old piece of tech once they get the new one. If these old devices don’t get disposed properly, components from these will make the environment become harmful. For instance, batteries, made from lithium ions, can become an explosive bomb if suffer intensive heat. Metals, such as aluminium can make the ground contaminated, thus reduce the soil’s quality. To conclude, In my opinion, the requirements to buy new gadgets and tech devices are not essential. So, this should not be encouraged, due to its consequences.