More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the recent times developed nations are observing an increase in the number of obese teenagers, which has emerged as a grave concern and needs immediate attention. This is mainly because of the advancement of fast food culture which leads the way to various health issues. Firstly, children are more drawn to eating finger-food than eating healthy substitutes. In other words, junk food is readily available in convenient stores as compared to a salad box. Hence, a teenager is drawn to eating unhealthy as opposed to consuming a salad. Secondly, another point to consider is the price tag of fast foods. To illustrate, a burger at McDonald's is cheaper than a salad at Trader Joe's. Moreover, teenagers who are living on pocket money tend to spend money on cheaper products than finding a healthy item. One of the most common effect of this problem is the increase of new age diseases and health issues. In other words, children are battling with their weights which causes body issues and can disturb the minds of a youngster and can eventually lead to depression. To add to it, United States of America has the highest percentage of overweight teenagers in the world which proves that youngsters today are not taking their diet seriously. Additionally, overweight children have the tendency to get infected with diseases such as thyroid and high blood pressure. To conclude, if the concern of overweight teenagers is not addressed right now, it will continue to grow as a threat of the wealthy nations. Therefore, if a country needs to be progressive, they need to work on the problem of obese youngsters.