Petrol prices should be increased to reduce traffic congestion. Agree or disagree

It is argued that the most effective way to curb traffic is to raise the price of gas. This essay agrees that an increased levy on petrol could help in the reduction of traffic jams. Firstly, traffic jams are caused by commuters travelling to work; secondly, public transport could be used as an alternative to cars. Many people commute to work around the same time of day, however, they tend to travel alone. This results in an ineffective use of not only cars but also road space as there is an abundance of vehicles in the streets. The outcome is traffic congestion during rush hour. As such, a higher tariff on fuel encourages workers to travel together in an attempt to save money. For instance, a survey conducted in South Africa reported a surge in carpoolling after petrol prices were raised, leading to a decline in everyday traffic. A rise in fuel prices promotes public transport usage to individuals. Not only is it cheaper as they only need to buy tickets, but also more convenient as they do not need to deal with the stress that comes alongside driving. Furthermore, it also causes a drop in the amount of automobiles on the road lowering congestion. For example, many countries are encouraging the use of public transport such as trains and buses by making special provisions such as designated bus lanes that are implemented to avoid traffic. In conclusion, higher levies should be applied to gas prices as it will promote car sharing amongst people as well as encourage the utilisation of public transport as a less expensive option.