In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this positive or a negative development?

Ever since the start of globalization, there has been a significant rise in big shopping malls in the country. This has resulted in more people buying from large shopping centres instead of small shops. In my opinion, this is a positive development which can lead to more benefits for the customers. One benefit that the customers get due this development is competitive pricing. It is often seen that the large outlets have huge funds which they can utilise to buy product in bulk quantity. Due to economies of scale that these mega malls enjoy, they tend to get the products cheaper and subsequently the benefit is passed on to customers in the form of discounts. For instance, every year monsoon sale is organised in most of the malls in Mumbai in which all the shops offer their products at almost 50% to 70% discount. The other advantage of the growth of shopping centres is that it serves as a one stop destination for all the shopping needs. These shopping centres offer a plethora of products of different brands which gives consumers a wide range of options to choose from. Nowadays, almost all the shopping centres have theatres, food courts, cafes, and children play area, hence people of all age groups can enjoy spending time in malls. One of the malls in Mumbai has a snow park, which attracts huge crowd every day. Although, this may cause small shops to close down their business, it is overall good for strengthening country's economy. To sum up, considering all the aspects, I believe that the emergence of large shopping centres has a positive effect on the society.