The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Global warming is destroying our world. Research and development of new and different ways to replace fossil fuel is important. Though I do not agree that it is the most important goal in todays world. Firstly, we have many clean energy sources available to us. For example, Solar energy is a very promising resource now a days. People are installing solar panels on their roof to generate their own electricity. Many popular cars are electric which removes the need for petrol. Secondly, ways of generating energy has already changed a lot in the past decade. Electricity companies are using wind and hydro energy more and more. Use of coal has almost vanished for electricity generation. In addition, many existing industries like airline do not have advancement available to replace fuel. For example, aeroplanes works on a special petrol called ATX. It is more important to upgrade aeroplanes to make them work with renewable energy sources. Although many people have electric cars now, the majority of folks still drive diesel and petrol cars. It is more important to find a solution that can work with existing cars without forcing people to buy a new car. In my opinion, how we migrate from existing technology to a new one is a more important question. To clarify myself, I am not saying that we don't need innovative fuel options. I am just saying that it should not be the highest priority to combat environmental issues. In conclusion, though options for fossil fuel replacement are good to have, we should concentrate more on effectively using other energy resources already available to us.