Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, such as the army, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a division in many quarters as to what role a woman should play in a male denominated organisation. While some believe that both uniformed men and women in the armed forces should play equal roles, others think that a woman is not in any way meant for such occupation. In my opinion, I agree with the former assertion that a woman should play the same role as a man in the force for a number of reasons. On the one hand, I believe that in order to prevent inequality both sexes should have the same responsibilities. Since time immemorial, women have been clamouring for equal rights at work, therefore, in order to prevent a situation whereby the female sex feels looked down on or belittled it is essential that they are both awarded equal roles in the force. Besides, both parties knew what they were in for before applying for the job, there is, therefore, no need to set aside a special role for a man or woman. On the other hand, it is thought the military jobs could be more tasking and demanding for a woman. This is because some of the job descriptions of being an army officer sometimes involve going to war and a woman might not have the necessary strength required to carry out such operations. In a situation where a woman is enrolled in such, the probability of failing in such missions would be higher. For example, in the year 2000, the NPF enrolled 20 women to lead the war in the Sambisa forest in Kano State. The state recorded a massive failure of the mission. This re-emphasizes the fact that not all jobs are suitable for both sexes. In conclusion, although women might not be able to perform excellently in the armed forces, I, therefore, believe that in order to prevent inequality, both sexes should be given responsibilities on the par.