Public transportation could be made free of charge.Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this change.

It is mostly believed that making public transportation free of charge would yield more advantage than disadvantage. This will be discussed by proving how a free public transport would provide an environmentally friendly living and more public transport workers. Removal of fare of mass transit has a plethora of benefits to the environment. For example, in Lagos, if we have more people using a city's public transit system, this will greatly reduce the congestion we experience on the road daily-having fewer vehicles plying on the road in turn reduces a city's overall carbon footprint tremendously. Thus, the merit of removing general transportation fares can be seen. In addition, permitting people to use the general transit services with fare elimination can be exceptionally helpful in the creation of jobs. To illustrate, in Lagos if conveyance fee is taken out from public means of transportation, there will be high demand for the Bureaucrats of the state to provide more and better public transports. This will heighten the necessity for more buses and the train drivers and artisans, such as automobile repairers, cleaners and ticket dispensers. This is obviously seen that boarding of transportation system for free is of more cons. To summarize, It is clear that removing the fees charged to general transit passenger has more cons than pros. It is hoped that this alternative is considered as a future growth option for emerging cities.