Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions about whether it is the responsibility of parents to teach children good manners to make them a better societal member or the school could be an adequate place to learn such things. This essay will discuss about both these views on this contentious topic, followed by my own take on this matter. On the one hand, people, underscoring the importance of parents’ role in making their children a good member of society assert that parents are the first teachers for their offspring. For Example, during the initial years of a child, only mother teach him all the basic traits such as respect, honesty, obedience and so on. Learning certain things from parents definitely assist children in building a good personality, and developing certain characteristics and principles in life that makes them a better social person. Moreover, parents also act as a role model for their children, and the guidance provided by their elders always appreciated as they like to walk on their footprints. In addition, parents usually know about all the likes and dislikes of their children and give them advice about everything accordingly. On the other hand, due to the hectic work schedule of parents in this fast-paced working environment, they remain unavailable in homes, and usually do not have sufficient time to instruct their children. Then it becomes the duty of the schools to train children and build their personality as a good human being. For instance, in schools, nowadays, many volunteering sessions are organized to teach children to help the community, so when children spent most of their daytime hours in school they easily learn all the social traits and practise them very effectively under the supervision of their mentors. Also, participating in these events certainly assist them in learning discipline, improving communication skills and doing some social work in the community. These exceptional qualities and community work experience, make a positive impact on their CV and open doors for better future career prospects. In conclusion, there is nothing wrong to say that both parents and schools have an equal role in developing good personality and teaching social traits to children. Hence, it is completely unjustifiable to consider only one side of the viewpoint because both have their own significance and distinctive role in the life of children.