The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The practice of corporal punishment in educational institutions is decreasing, but it is believed by some to improvise behaviour. I disagree with the view and choose to elaborate on my response. Traditional schooling methods involved punishing the child for any bad behaviour by hitting them. It was supposed to be the most sort remedy, as elders at home would indulge in the same. In a bid to reform the child, and reinforce good manners, physical beating was then considered necessary. For example: If a child refuses to study for an exam, or eat vegetables corporal punishment usually ensured that the task was undertaken. Teachers are considered to be parents in school. Instead of one pupil they handle more than fifty at a time. The only control they have over children, creating a menace is punishment. The reason though is quite simple, punish one child while the others will not repeat the same observing consequences. Although today's society is no longer the same, and methods used in the past cannot be replicated. For example: Classrooms have cameras, and any teacher observed to be Beating a child can be put behind bars. It is important to understand that even though it is crucial to instill good habits from childhood harsh punishment is not the solution. It not only creates a fear of school, but affects the infant’s development in later stages of his career. For example: A student constantly harassed by the teacher tends to be a shy individual as an adult. In conclusion, I disagree that we should continue to use age-old practices, as it does improve behaviour rather causes more harm than good.