For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some O people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do u agree?

In the past, people generally think that essential parts of education should be included literacy and numeracy. However, by the appearance of information technology, people believe that computer skill must be adapted into the curriculum. I strongly agree with the point of view. First of all, as the digital generation comes, the know-how of using a computer is necessary. Many simple daily jobs involve using technology devices and the internet, for examples, online purchasing, browsing social media, using a GPS system to find the way. I can firmly say that people cannot live without technology nowadays. There is no doubt that learning computer skills can facilitate students’ learning. For example, students can browse and search learning materials online anywhere anytime. Also, students can submit homework with one-click and the teachers can keep track of their student’s learning by using artificial intelligence. Moreover, the students can also ask problems and get prompt responses from the teachers via chat room apps. Besides, computer knowledge allows the graduated students to enhance the job opportunity. Most of the employers claimed that they are more willing to hire employees with advanced computer skills. As we open the newspaper and search for a job, we can find that computer skill is a required skill for nearly every job. Whether you are working as a salesman, engineer or secretary, you must rely on computers to finish your daily tasks such as checking emails, recording transactions and do documentary work…… Therefore, to prepare for adult life, the students should gain more knowledge and skill of computer as much as they can when they are studying. In conclusion, teaching computer skills at school is necessary. However, to help students get a whole around development, more subjects and skills should be added into the teaching plan.