Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, ifso, how?

Language is a way to communicate ideas, thoughts, and opinions with other people. English is one of the languages that is often considered essential to learn in today’s world, while there is a considerable decline in the interest in learning the local languages. Some of them are on the verge of dying out. This essay believes that everyone must learn English. At the same time, it is equally important to preserve local languages. Firstly, English is the official language in more than 50 countries, most of which are well-developed nations where one might be interested in settling down in the future. For example, since the English speaking countries such as the US, the UK, and Canada are considered to be the best destinations for higher education, One must have a strong command of the language in order to thrive in an English speaking country successfully. Besides, this skill is fundamental in this age of globalization as the clients of the employers are often from different parts of the world. Good knowledge of English is also required to make the best use of information available on the internet because most of the websites are in English. However, the essay thinks the local languages should also be taught to preserve them for future generations. There are many scriptures and books written in local languages that are full of knowledge and wisdom. For example, the books on Ayurveda, a traditional healing practice, are written in Sanskrit. As many people are leaning towards natural healing therapy, it has become all the more important to learn and preserve the minority languages that allow us to decipher such ancient texts. Including these languages in the school curriculum is one of the ways to preserve them. To conclude, learning English is necessary to succeed in all walks of life, and the local language also needs to be given due respect. This essay feels an equal effort should be made by individuals to learn both these languages.