Some People Believe That In The Near Future, There Will Be No Borders Between Countries | Band 9 IELTS Essay Sample

According to some people national boundaries will disappear in the not-so-distant future. Others, however, contest this view. In my opinion, geographical boundaries will always exist and they are required also. On the one hand, if countries do not have any borders separating them, people can travel freely and explore the world as much as they can. The lack of boundaries may boost trade and thus benefit the economy. For instance, countries like Singapore and Malaysia have no borders between them and so people can travel freely. They do not need a visa or have to go through security checkups before they can enter the other territory. Of course, these two countries enjoy good relationships and as such the lack of border between them is only beneficial for them. On the flip side, not every nation enjoys a good relationship with their neighbours. For example, a border is a must between India and Pakistan. This is essential to stop infiltrators from entering the country. Likewise, there is a strong border between the United States and Mexico and still controlling the flow of drugs from Mexico to the US is quite hard. We can imagine what would happen if there were no borders between these countries. Obviously, borders are crucial for maintaining law and order. They prevent anti-social elements from entering the country. In conclusion, while it is true that there is no place for borders in a perfect world, ours is far from perfect and hence national boundaries are required to check criminal activities and maintain law and order. Therefore, in my opinion, they are here to stay.