Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

How houses should be built? This has become the most important topic of discussion these days. While some say, people should adopt conventional patterns of building houses. Others argue that, people should be given the freedom to choose how they want to get it constructed. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument. However, in my opinion, the occupants of the house should have the freedom to decide how it should look. On the one hand, there are few benefits of following the traditional styles of building a house. It gives a classic look to the neighbourhood. Also, when all houses look the same, residents feel a sense of equality. For example, in the city of Mumbai government has demolished a lot of small houses and have built tall buildings to match other buildings in the locality. People build luxurious homes to show off their wealth. By simply asking them to build a home that matches other homes in the locality government can stop this audacious display of wealth. On the flip side, there are many more benefits of building a home as per the needs and wants of its owner. To start with, homes that look alike lacks character. A home is a reflection of an owner's personality. It is a space you own and for this reason, the local authorities should let people decide how they want their homes to be built. Furthermore, traditional buildings are not energy efficient. It lacks a lot of modern features such as attached bathrooms or modular kitchen. In addition, adding features such as CCTV cameras in a traditional home can also be a challenge. To conclude, while it is easy to follow the historical style of building homes. In my opinion, it is important to allow people to decide how they want their homes to be built because a home is much more than a place to live in. It is an extension of your personality.